Skip to content

We Can’t Ignore the Elephant in the Office.

March 7, 2013

b2bc0dab7f9f54e39a844621afe41be9

Hey weirdos.

So a week ago I was man handled into working overtime on the weekend for a pitch that was fast approaching. And when I say man handled I mean, as the CCO’s assistant- it’s my godly duty to work on a Sunday here and there.

There I was, trying to find a way to waste ten hours at a desk when I made eye contact with my desktop image- Two elephants.

Mayhap I’ll watch some elephant videos?

Deep into the archives of Youtube I begin to dig up heart warming videos of my bestest animal friends, we were laughing like old buddies separated by time and a computer screen and reality.

And then it turned sour.

I was suddenly crying alone at my desk, tears reflecting on my pale skin like diamonds under fluorescent lighting. From Shirley finding a new wide open home on the reservation in Tennessee, consequently leaving behind her best friend trainer at the zoo; to the loss of Tara’s best friend on the same reservation, her doggy companion Bella. Needless to say, I was a mess. And then I remembered I wasn’t alone- at any point my boss could walk by and see me a shitty mess at my desk with swollen eyes mumbling about elephants. This would not look good.

I am Erika Lindsey, I could be under the stress of scheduling/expensing/menstruating/assisting but the second Bossman is at my desk I am calm, subtle smile, all attentive.

do not fall apart from happy/sad elephant videos. I certainly do not put myself in a position where I admit to my boss that elephants are the reason my eyes are melting and no, I did not just get a phone call about a dead relative.

But there I was. Mopping up my breakdown, trying to pause the videos as I get myself in check and peel the mascara glued tissue remnants from my face.

Luckily, he did not come by. I was saved the elephant sized embarrassment.

The moral of this story? I obviously love elephants so much that no matter what the content of the video, I will breakdown and thus- will not watch elephant videos at my desk on sundays.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 10:50 am

    Lord, you almost had me crying just from you writing about crying…hahahaha

Leave a Reply

