Skip to content

Howdy, Big Tex.

October 19, 2012

It was horribly coincidental to be discussing weird childhood memories this morning, even having a chat with a Delta customer service lady located in Texas about the State Fair…to then find out Big Tex had just burned up completely. Gone in a matter of minutes.

I know it sounds silly, but he is an icon for a lot of us Texans. We grew up, no matter the age, going to the fair and winding our way through oil splattered rows to see Big Tex. You could hear him greeting everyone no matter where you were on the fair grounds.

I’m strangely sad. I don’t care if it was just a steel frame dressed as a cowboy- i haven’t been able to make it to the state fair in years, and now I’ll never get to see Big Tex again.

Howdy, Big Tex. I’m sorry to see you go.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 12:21 pm

    We will rebuild…We will rebuild!!!!!

  2. October 19, 2012 12:28 pm

    Not going to lie, I totally want that dude chillin outside of my house. It would be freaking epic.

    • October 19, 2012 1:01 pm

      Well you can’t, Vinny. Know why? Because he’s dead now! DEAD, YOU HEAR? *said like dramatic old Texas Socialite*

  3. October 19, 2012 2:01 pm

    Oh umm umm I’m sorry Mister Tex. I will be at the funeral for the poor country dude, *sniffle >.<

  4. October 19, 2012 5:37 pm

    I hope they rebuild him exactly as he was before… well, I could live with flame-retardant clothing.

Leave a Reply

