Skip to content

Reality Really Ruining Reality.

August 3, 2012

If any of you follow me on the Twit’s (@Worderkind) you would have witnessed my utter disbelief in watching a particular…reality…show. I still can’t even say it’s real.

Should you not be into Breaking Bad you might not have known a lil dilly of a show called “Small Town Security”…If you have Direct TV, you def don’t know, ZING! Sorry, that’s not funny- life isn’t worth living if you can’t compare it to MadMen, Breaking Bad and Small Town Security.

But I feel as if, by putting those shows side by side, we’re in one of the SAT questions of: which one in the group doesn’t belong?

The answer, Small Town Security. BECAUSE IT’S REAL!

Take any section you want and TELL ME this isn’t some Christopher Guest mini series… My mind is boggled. These people exist? Fo reelz?

There is a transgender that is the most convincing transgender I’ve ever seen, and for someone in that small podunk pod of Georgia…it’s like…I mean…I can’t even believe he was once a woman.

Woman. At some point.

The owner of the security firm, Joan Koplan, takes us through her rise and mega falls of the entertainment business- I spent the episode above thinking, “Wow, they’re getting really advanced with making ‘faux’ clips of someone’s ‘real’ life”….no Erika, it’s mothereffing real.

The husband, Captain Koplan, goes through a bevy of hair colors in one episode- to the point where Frankie and I were playing detective on how that’s even possible.

Mix of Red and Grey

Half Grey, Half….Red…

One frame it’s dark red

TWO MINUTES LATER-same scene

I should not be alarmed by these characters, I came from podunk, it’s in my blood…but in a time of perfected mockumentary style shows I can’t seem to find the “relate gene” to move my mind towards acceptance of these..fake..no real…people.

At the end of the day, I’m waiting for the most epic Punk ever. Because, no matter how many times I watch it…I just…Well, it’s only that….Ugh- I just don’t know what to believe anymore.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 2:38 pm

    Where did you find this show?? Brilliant? Horrible? I don’t know?? Will there be a musical episode? Wait, Joan just sang about Kansas… does that count?

    I’m not sure if I should thank you for putting this on my radar, but I feel a strange desire to watch more.

    • August 7, 2012 3:36 pm

      It’s so disturbing… I watch it as a form of strange, confusing punishment. I was watching as entertainment when I found comfort in the fakeness….but alas, it’s real. Reeeeyuhl.

Leave a Reply

