Skip to content

Stranger Danger: Person of the Post

March 30, 2012

I will start out by saying this ‘Person of the Day’ made me do publicly what I ranted about earlier in the week.

But he earned it.

It’s a kid, a boy maybe 16 but I wouldn’t be suprised if he were younger. And we’re in NY, so he could be 25. Who knows. But he looks to be young, goes to the magnet school by my apartment. I walk by him possibly every morning.

He’s tiny, maybe 5 feet and a scrawny lil thing. He’s got curly hair and thick black rimmed glasses, he is always wearing massive headphones. He will more than likely become a mogul of sorts, the  nerds always do.

I don’t normally think much of him, just a kid I pass in a whole group of kids I pass everyday.

Until today. Today he reigned supreme.

I also happen to live next to the Museum of Moving Pictures and that is where we crossed this cool morning. The doors, if you’ve never been, are cool etched glass but practically full length mirrors.

I spot him from a block down, we’re both on opposite corners. As we meet in the middle, in front of the doors, I’ve already moved on to other faces and places when I see him turn his face to the door….

He twists a curl in front of his forehead, very Kenickie like…..

And then he… I wasn’t ready for it… he saluted himself.

Yeah, you read it right. He gave himself the ‘Ol American Hand. Himself. HIMSELF.

I’ve only seen this in movies and it’s normally in a private bathroom before a date or the act of sex. Not on a public street in Astoria whilst walking to school.

You, nerd boy with the curls and headphones… You made the first ever “Person of the Day”… and you effing earned it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2012 1:08 pm

    You can’t just sit around waiting for others to salute you. Be proactive.

Leave a Reply

