Skip to content

I Can Has Style: THE OSCAR EDITION!

February 27, 2012

IT’S MY SUPERBOWL, BEEYOTCHES.

I’ve been waiting for this day for a long time, the red carpet spawned ‘I Can Has Style’ thanks to years of watching. I might not be a fashionista, but I know my Oscar gowns.

Let’s go right in:

In spirit with the last I Can Has Style, I noticed a lot of POC’s! Some were vomit inducing, but let’s focus on the gems.

Michele Williams mesmerized in sea coral, not to mention the girlish and unique cut to her gown that brought the color to my attention. I wasn’t sure whether I should peg Viola’s green dress as the POC or the gorgeous color it gave her skin, for someone who can’t pull off green I was uber jealous- with a soft j. The last POC of the night is not only a vibrant sky blue, but it’s green as well! The wife of Speilberg put into motion a contest for earth friendly couture and that was the dress that won. Yay to fairly treated silk worms!

To revisit the Golden Globes favoring of asymmetrical cuts and lines, we didn’t have to look too far last night.

These lovely ladies, who couldn’t be any more different, glammed it out last night with something very much in common: Stunning asymmetrical gowns; one in deep, velvet black, another in dark navy and crystals. While one actress could silence a room with her BillyBob scary glare and the other have the room erupt in laughter, both came together to shock me with pleasure.

I noticed a new theme last night and while it’s not a new fashion revolution, it was nice for the classic one shoulder look to outshine the rest.

Gwen pulled off a double shoulder idea with her gown hiding a sleek over the shoulder strip under a cape that sat perfectly   on her svelte body, she’s like a…Cooking, Acting, Singing, Presenting Super Hero. I don’t know why being a girlfriend of a mega popularly handsome movie star makes you famous, but she seems to be the hype of all awards. I was weird with this one, the gold growth on her hip is not something I want my eye wandering to but from the waist up it’s elegant and shows the potential. Mila is always popular on the red carpet and last night she played it subtle but stunning in a classic over the shoulder evening gown.

My favorite of the night should come of no surprise to some of you, she’s my favorite girl who I predicted in a dark theatre at Superbad to be a “big hilarious deal”…and Emma Stone doesn’t let me down.

I mean, if the guy behind her is wicked blushing… I think I picked right. She didn’t need…HELP…hahaha, get it? Get IT?

Alright, I hope I did the awards red carpet justice. I might not have won last night, might not have gave a hilariously humble speech that I’ve had written since I was 13… But I don’t doubt winning for MOST AWESOME OSCAR COVERAGE!

Now in a moment of silence, let’s say a prayer for those no doubt on Fashion Police’s Worst List.


The Ghost of Worst Dressed Past

Where to start…. 

I can’t quite put my finger on the problem with this dress… maybe it’s not the dress but THE HORRIBLY SCARY, I’LL EAT YOUR SOUL LOOK on her face. 

POC gone very wrong. POCRISIS!

If I was going to wear trash supplies, I would at least have gone paper… I mean, the environment still exists, duh. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bella permalink
    March 1, 2012 1:09 pm

    Erika you’re too funny!! Trash supplies? You’re so right!!

  2. March 1, 2012 4:43 pm

    Great picks!

    I’m horrified by the garbage gown! I didn’t see it or it so would have been on my worst dressed list!

    • March 1, 2012 6:27 pm

      There are so many and, amazingly, not enough red carpet time but your list did BAD so good.

Leave a Reply

