Skip to content

News! WORTH! Newsing!

April 27, 2012

This is the face of racism. Apparently.

I normally try to take a “real” news story from a credible source like HuffPost… I’m waiting for everyone to eye roll, I’m done- are you?

Ok then. But today I saw one of my favorite words in my email update from Jezebel: Hipster.

To be honest I saw it last night in my gmail on the phone but I was too lazy to actually open it to read what they could possibly say about hipsters. But I have nothing to do this morning so I digress.

I was not expecting what the article actually was. Hipster Racism. No, this is not about people like me who make fun of hipsters relentlessly. It’s essentially saying “White People Being Funny While Also Being Racist”. I’ll let you all eye roll again, maybe even do that face where you look like you just died. Done? Ok, moving on.

What? I obviously had to read further. And then I wish I didn’t.

There’s been a lot of talk these last couple of weeks about “hipster racism” or “ironic racism”—or, as I like to call it, racism. It’s, you know, introducing your black friend as “my black friend”—as a joke!!!—to show everybody how totally not preoccupied you are with your black friend’s blackness. It’s the gentler, more clueless, and more insidious cousin of a hick in a hood

I know exactly what she’s talking about, my co-workers office mate and I had a fun run at this yesterday about my experience with Asian culture in chocolate shops. Also, do you know how many times I’ve been introduced as “Hick from Texas”… right, because I want to be related to a toothless, shotgun swinging moron. I should write an article about it, only I don’t care that much.

Modern racism lives in entrenched de facto inequalities, in coded language about “work ethic” and “states’ rights,” in silent negative spaces like absence and invisibility.

Before I really crack into this, I will admit that white people are the last people to talk about racism- in any form. It never really goes well. That said, here I go:

Modern racism… interesting concept. Coded language about “work ethic” and “states’ rights”? You mean stereotypes? (which anyone will say comes from real life otherwise the word wouldn’t exist, it would be called People We Make Fun With No Truth Involved What-so-ever) I love that all of a sudden stereotypes only mean minorities, should I make a list of white people stereotypes? Whenever someone alludes to a black persons inability to work, do I need to shout out my trailer trash cousin’s name and tell his story to make everyone feel better and equal because you’re too stupid to realize almost every stereotype goes both ways? Moving on.

So racism went underground. Sure, you can’t say racist things anymore, but you can pretend to say them! Which, it turns out, is pretty much the exact same thing. There are a couple of strains of “ironic racism” making the rounds right now, and a couple of typical defenses.

It didn’t go anywhere. It’s everywhere. And it’s not just black people who get the short end of the stick. It’s anyone who isn’t claiming they’re white apparently. Even black people are racist against black people. Racism just is, and it always was. Americans didn’t create it, hell, Americans didn’t even do the worst of it in my opinion. But what has changed is the fact that instead of chasing someone down the street to string them up, instead of separating water fountains or creating camps and reservations for people you don’t want around or are scared of- We’re trying to ease it out of serious, it’s not serious- it’s ridiculous! And what better way to move into ridiculous than using irony and self deprecating humor?

I know that sounds horrible, and I apologize to anyone who has ever been the brunt of racism. Racism has been angry, violent, misplaced….but we still want to create an issue when we’re trying to joke or make light of something that was once horrible? Isn’t that what we as humans do with a lot of weird uncomfortable things like death and such? Make light is the wrong term, everyone just wants to relax. Over PCness ruined the mind set of this country and now thanks to some ballsy comedians and stoner movies we all feel a little lighter in making fun of EVERYONE!

Let’s be honest, we’re all fucking idiots. It’s just been decades and decades and decades of mean nastiness, we all want to laugh at how ridiculous it is. And it’s not ironic bc white people are saying these things, let’s be clear here. It’s ironic bc what we laugh about in our “hipster racism” are things we’re all guilty of! Black, White, Indian, Asian, Woodland Creature. It doesn’t fucking matter!

Racism will not go away. But what can is the violent hatred of someone with different pigments. But of course, there are people who need racism to live on and those damn Hipsters (who apparently are only white, because that’s not racist or anything) can’t help but ruin it with laughing and irony. What assholes. Has anyone called the cops?  When will stupid white people learn to shut up and only speak when spoken to?

I am open ears on this one, weirdos. And I don’t care what damn pigment your skin is, if you have a comment- leave it. I want to talk to real people, not ignorant Jezebel bloggers. I want to know what real people think of this “Hipster Racism”…unless you’re a hipster. Then you shouldn’t be here. JUST JOKING! I’m so racist! *eyes crossed from too much eye rolling*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2012 12:40 pm

    Me (mexican/romanian) <- my husband (black) says I'm white :: Me and my husband joke about race all the time. I.E. I would sometimes joke by saying the following: oh lordie lordie I need some jamabalaya! and when I don't know something he mocks me by saying "oh they don't have that in 3rd world countries where your from." I guess we're pretty hip.

    Racism is fun and enjoyable for the whole family. Even yesterday my son asked "mommy what color is daddy?" i said "black" but he looked confused so I was more accurate in my description, dark brown. And I said "see i'm lighter brown, and when me and daddy come together *put my hands together* we make beautiful brown babies like you and your sister" he laughed and said I was funny.

    I even caused complete chaos at a party once because I was using a jewish accent – to someone i didn't know was jewish – needless to say the party moved to the parking lot and someone ended up with a broken window in their car – oops!

    Make sure your in the right crowd before slinging around racist jokes and you'll be fine! We're all racist in some form or another and I think that in some cases it's okay to be racist, like when your picking a dr. (white ladies are the best). Lets call it mature ironic racism that way more "hip" =D hahaha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

