Skip to content

CUPS OF CAKE, MOTHERCUPPAS

April 20, 2012

EARTH STYLE.

I’ll be honest, when I typed in “environment friendly cupcakes” I thought at the same time: “I hope they are made of compost” “I doubt anything will come up”

I forgot I was searching this on the Google, THE Google. Of course something would come up, and it would not be a compost cupcake after I scarfed it down for the sake of nature.

I clicked on the first link they gave me, which ended up being perfect. It was indeed a chat on environmently conscious cupcake connoisseurs. Sort of.

A lady walks into a bakery. (No, this is not the start of a “why the long face” type of joke…but i wish it was.) She purchases a cupcake. Here is her story.

The crux is that she was served her cupcake in an “excessively large plastic container,” and when she asked the man serving where the recycling bin was when she was finished, she was told “we don’t recycle”.

Okay… let me approach this cautiously. I do care for my earth, ask maki- I get excited over grass. And I do think that establishments should offer bins for recycling, for sure. But if your day is ruined, and the place you purchased you lard cup isn’t offering what you want…doesn’t your home? Are you really going to bitch to employees who get paid $10 bucks an hour and have no say in how that company is run? I’ve made my case. Let’s proceed.

The blogger who I’m getting this tale from heads in the write direction with,

Anyway instead of dwelling on the poor, I wanted to give a thumbs up to another bakery which is the opposite and while it may not be possible for every bakery to go to this extreme, there are certainly ideas a plenty on the Birdbath / Build a Green Bakery website!

Okay, cool. So what are they doing exactly to help the earth? Apparently courting the fuck out of it, earning wicked brownie points, struck a deal with Mother Earth for immortality as long as they do the following? I have no idea.

Their cups are made of biodegradable corn, the countertop and shelves, from recycled paper, they are wind powered, their paper bags are not wax lined, the floor is reclaimed timber. They use organic flour, sugar and butter, deliver by bicycle-driven cargo rickshaw and compost their coffee grounds daily.

See. Intense.

I do find it somewhat silly that the TASTE of this place’s cupcakes are not spoken of. I don’t care what you do for an environment, if your product suffers from it I don’t think enough eco-hipsters will be able to keep it afloat.

I guess I’ll have to swing by, recycle my coffee grounds and take a bite out of a real earthly cup of cake- I’ll let you know how it goes. Do you think it smells?

Have a great Friday, I know for some it’s a wonderful holiday so enjoy- eat some cupcakes-and BE SAFE!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 12:15 pm

    Oh those eco-hipsters….Ha and great title.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

